Skip to main content

Amazon Launchpad Innovation Awards support and promote next generation of innovative startups

Amazon today announces the launch of the Amazon Launchpad Innovation Awards, a free competition designed to support emerging, innovative European startups by giving them chance to win a ‘Startup of the year’ prize of €100,000.

Entries are open until March 28th to European startups selling physical products to consumers. A judging panel will select the top five most innovative startups across Europe from a shortlist of 15 finalists. The five finalists will each win a €10,000 grant, free access to Amazon Launchpad for one year, marketing placements, and the ‘Startup of the Year’ will receive an additional €90,000 grant.

“Innovation is part of our culture. We continue to invent on behalf of customers, but we’re also the destination for innovative new products from small businesses,” said Xavier Flamand, Director EU Seller Services. “Since its launch, Amazon Launchpad has supported over 2,000 startups in Europe. These awards demonstrate both our commitment to supporting emerging brands and how we love to delight our customers with new and innovative products.”

Startups applying for the award must be brand owners, registered in the European Union (the UK and Switzerland included), have less than 50 employees and have been operating for less than 10 years with an annual turnover lower than €10 million in the EU / £6.5 million in the UK.

The judging panel will select products by their aesthetic, design, uniqueness and differentiation, but also social, ecological and economical sustainability aspects will be considered as judging criteria, and it is made up of five industry experts, both within and outside of Amazon, including: Andy Fishburn, Managing Director Virgin Start-up; Greg Williams, Editor-in-chief of Wired UK; Jamie Siminoff, CEO of Ring; Aditi Singh, General Manager of Amazon Launchpad Europe; and Ryan Frank, Head of Marketplace of Amazon in Spain.

To learn more about the Amazon Launchpad Innovation Awards click here.